How to remove the My Site and My Links in SharePoint

If you want to remove the two links at the top of the page, My Site and My Links, follow these steps:

Start the Central Administration web application.

Click the "Shared Services Administration" link.

Locate the SSP that is managing the My Sites web site and click on it.

Go to User profiles and My Sites ->  Personalization services permissions.

Select the Authenticated Users group and click on Modify Permissions of Selected Users.

To disable My Site, un-check the Create personal site checkbox.

To disable My Links, un-check the Use personal features checkbox.